Last call is January 30 for a fully-featured Google Calendar on iOS

Google has announced that they will be ending Google Sync support on January 30th, 2013, for non-business users.

What does this mean? It means that on iOS the average user will no longer be able to perform basic tasks such as adding or editing attendees on an event in iOS calendar apps. Furthermore, your mobile calendar will generally be slower to update any changes made by other users. If you want these capabilities after January 30th, you will have to be using Google Apps for Business. (Edit: Note that Google Calendars will still work with iOS, however fewer features will be available. For the tech experts: Google is phasing out the Microsoft Exchange ActiveSync protocol, but will continue to support CalDAV.)

Here's what the Tetherpad team recommends:

If you are like many people and are either not a business customer or haven't yet set up your phone or tablet calendar to take advantage of these features, then you will have to set up your calendar to use the Exchange protocol prior to January 30th, 2013 or lose these capabilities indefinitely.

If you set it up before the deadline, Google has said it will grandfather you in.

So - to set up your calendar to use the Exchange protocol now, follow these steps:

    1. Go to the Settings application
    2. Select Mail, Contacts, Calendars.
    3. Select Add Account...
    4. Select Microsoft Exchange.
    5. Enter your full email address in the Email field.
    6. Enter your Google Account password as the Password.
    7. Enter a meaningful description that you'll remember in the Description field.
    8. Tap Next at the top of your screen.
    9. Enter m.google.com in the Server field.
    10. Leave the Domain field blank.
    11. Enter your full Google Account email address as the Username.
    12. If your password isn't pre-filled, enter your Google Account password as the Password.
    13. Press Next at the top of your screen again.
    14. In the next screen, make sure Calendars is set to ON.
    15. Tap Save at the top of the screen.

Once you've completed these steps, if you have another copy of this calendar installed on your phone, you can go ahead and delete this old version with no negative repercussions.

And you're good to go!

We hope you found this useful. If you have further questions, leave a comment below, email us founders@tetherpad.com, or send your thoughts to @tetherpad on Twitter.

Cheers!

Jen @ tetherpad